Polk County Sheriff Grady Judd praises two citizens who held a woman he said was intoxicated and threatening customers at a Dollar General store with a knife.
POLK COUNTY, Fla. – A knife-wielding Kissimmee woman who is in the country illegally was arrested after threatening customers with a knife and being held at gunpoint by armed citizens at a Polk County Dollar General, according to the sheriff’s office.
Armed citizens pull gun on knife-wielding intoxicated woman at Florida Dollar General.
POLK COUNTY, Fla. – An armed citizen holds Natalia Gaviria at gunpoint outside a Polk County Dollar General after she allegedly threatened customers with a knife. Courtesy: Polk County Sheriff’s Office.
Polk County Sheriff Grady Judd said 36-year-old Natalia Gaviria, of Kissimmee, got heavily intoxicated before entering the Dollar General. Once inside, she reportedly pulled out a knife, began waving it around and threatened customers.
Store employees quickly ushered customers out of the building and called 911. During the encounter, investigators said Gaviria stabbed a soda bottle inside the business.
Two residents drew their concealed firearms and held Gaviria at gunpoint until law enforcement officers arrived. Sheriff Judd noted that under Florida law, residents do not need a permit to carry a concealed firearm.
“Way to go Polk County,” Judd said. “When we got there, you may say the caper was over.”
Gaviria was taken into custody and charged with disorderly intoxication, theft of the stabbed soda bottle and two counts of assault.
Don’t just settle for having a concealed carry license or just knowing how to pull a trigger. Let us take you to the advanced level of handgun self-defense shooting.
Polk County Sheriff Grady Judd praises two citizens who held a woman he said was intoxicated and threatening customers at a Dollar General store with a knife.
POLK COUNTY, Fla. – A knife-wielding Kissimmee woman who is in the country illegally was arrested after threatening customers with a knife and being held at gunpoint by armed citizens at a Polk County Dollar General, according to the sheriff’s office.
Armed citizens pull gun on knife-wielding intoxicated woman at Florida Dollar General.
POLK COUNTY, Fla. – An armed citizen holds Natalia Gaviria at gunpoint outside a Polk County Dollar General after she allegedly threatened customers with a knife. Courtesy: Polk County Sheriff’s Office.
Polk County Sheriff Grady Judd said 36-year-old Natalia Gaviria, of Kissimmee, got heavily intoxicated before entering the Dollar General. Once inside, she reportedly pulled out a knife, began waving it around and threatened customers.
Store employees quickly ushered customers out of the building and called 911. During the encounter, investigators said Gaviria stabbed a soda bottle inside the business.
Two residents drew their concealed firearms and held Gaviria at gunpoint until law enforcement officers arrived. Sheriff Judd noted that under Florida law, residents do not need a permit to carry a concealed firearm.
“Way to go Polk County,” Judd said. “When we got there, you may say the caper was over.”
Gaviria was taken into custody and charged with disorderly intoxication, theft of the stabbed soda bottle and two counts of assault.
Don’t just settle for having a concealed carry license or just knowing how to pull a trigger. Let us take you to the advanced level of handgun self-defense shooting.
Bartow, Florida – “. . . the father was bending down to look at the [credit] card when the gun that was concealed in his waistband began to cause him discomfort . . . ” – Sheriff Grady Judd.
“So he takes his Glock out of his waistband and lays it down,” Grady Judd said
According to Sheriff Judd, the child, who had been in the backseat, is believed to have gotten ahold of the gun and was playing with it before accidentally shooting himself in the face. The child was rushed to Lakeland Regional Health where he was pronounced dead.
For the complete story, as reported by News Channel 8 CLICK HERE
This is the second child, self-inflicted, accidental gunshot incident in Polk County, Florida this year. The previous one involved a 6-year-old child in Winter Haven that resulted in the child’s death.
In 2025, Polk County experience 3 child gun related incidents that resulted in the death of two children.
Editorial Comment: It is not the children’s fault. It is not the gun’s fault. It is the adult parent’s fault for having the lack of training and knowledge to safely handle and store his or her firearm. When it comes to firearms, there is no such thing as an accident. It is negligence!
Free child safety gun locks available from In-Gauge of Polk County. Simply send an email request to: in-gauge@ingaugeofpolkcounty.com
In-Gauge of Polk County, a private, non-profit organization, Winter Haven, Florida, has FREE child safety gun locks to Polk County residents, available for the asking. Polk County residents need only send an email request to receive a free gun lock.
*If you are not aware of Florida law pertaining the possession of a firearm with and without a valid concealed carry license, within 1,000 feet of a public or private school zone, whether in session or not (24/7/365), even when traveling through that school zone in a private vehicle, you need to educate yourself. Florida is not as much a ‘Constitutional Carry’ state as many believe.
TALLAHASSEE, FL — More than a year of legislative negotiations culminated this week as Florida finalized the enforcement framework for its sweeping 2026 school safety package. While core components regarding threat assessments, training, and mental health resources were implemented earlier in July, the final statutory piece governing physical boundaries around educational facilities is now active law.
The central pillar of this final phase focuses directly on the exterior perimeter of educational institutions, targeting violent street crime and reckless firearm discharges occurring just outside school boundaries.
Under the new statutory framework:
Second-Degree Felony: Discharging a firearm or weapon on school property or within 1,000 feet of an educational facility is categorized as a second-degree felony, punishable by up to 15 years in state prison.
Mandatory Custody Hold: Anyone arrested under the firearm discharge provision cannot receive immediate release or station-house bail; defendants must remain in physical custody until appearing before a judge for formal bond determination.
Critical Legal Exemptions: The statute specifically protects citizens exercising lawful self-defense, as well as private property owners lawfully discharging firearms on their own private land situated within the 1,000-foot radius.
Law enforcement leaders across the state voiced support for the expanded statutory authority.
Tactical & Legal Context: Navigating School Zones for Lawful Gun Owners For lawful concealed carriers and homeowners residing in suburban communities, statutory buffer zones demand careful situational awareness.
Clear Recognition of Self-Defense: By writing an express carve-out for lawful self-defense directly into the statute, Florida lawmakers ensured that a citizen who uses a defensive tool to stop a violent crime on a public street or sidewalk within 1,000 feet of a school cannot be charged under this enhanced discharge felony.
Preserving Private Property Rights: The explicit exemption for private property owners prevents the law from infringing upon homeowners whose residences happen to sit within a block or two of a school fence line.
Awareness of Transit Routes: Lawful carriers traveling near school zones must remain mindful of state and federal definitions regarding campus grounds, particularly when picking up or dropping off passengers during peak school transit hours.
Safety Tip: GPS applications and vehicle navigation systems rarely flag 1,000-foot perimeters around primary or secondary schools. When traveling through dense residential or commercial neighborhoods adjacent to school properties, maintain strict situational awareness regarding school zone flashing beacons and crosswalks. If a critical encounter occurs where defensive force becomes unavoidable near these corridors, contact 911 immediately, establish your status as the victim or reporting party, and clearly state the defensive nature of the encounter to arriving investigators.
For those residing in Polk County and want to know the Polk County Public School District’s official firearm policy, please see and use the link below.
For those residing in Polk County and want to know the Polk County Public School District’s official firearm policy, please see and use the link below.
Florida Attorney General Won’t Appeal Court Ruling
1/2 price offer on all basic handgun and concealed carry license qualification classes.
Straight from the Florida Dept. of Agriculture ‘concealed carry license’ website . . .
Important Notice On June 17, 2026, the Fourth District Court of Appeal of Florida ruled in Eubanks v. Florida (4D2025-1698) that Section 790.06(2)(b) of the Florida Statutes, which bars law-abiding adults aged 18 to 20 from obtaining concealed carry permits, is facially unconstitutional. The Attorney General’s Office has indicated that they will not be seeking further review of the case. Because no other appellate court has considered the constitutionality of Section 790.06(2)(b), under NYSRPA v. Bruen, 597 U.S. 1 (2022) and United States v. Rahimi, 602 U.S. 681 (2024), the Fourth District’s decision is effectively the law of the state. As such, the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services will issue concealed weapon licenses to applicants who are 18 years or older and meet all other eligibility requirements.
In-Gauge of Polk County is offering 1/2 pricing for couples registering for any of our basic handgun or concealed carry license qualification classes.
For our class schedule and to register, visit our website CLICK HERE
Uthmeier said his office will work with the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to implement the court’s order.
Unless you are exempt, to qualify for a Florida concealed carry weapons license, you have to take a class. Our 3-hour concealed carry license class will qualify you to apply for a Florida concealed carry weapons license recognized in 38 total states.
A Florida concealed carry license is currently recognized in 38 states. Having a valid Florida concealed carry license is essential when traveling across state lines.
Florida Attorney General Won’t Appeal Court Ruling
1/2 price offer on all basic handgun and concealed carry license qualification classes.
Straight from the Florida Dept. of Agriculture ‘concealed carry license’ website . . .
Important Notice On June 17, 2026, the Fourth District Court of Appeal of Florida ruled in Eubanks v. Florida (4D2025-1698) that Section 790.06(2)(b) of the Florida Statutes, which bars law-abiding adults aged 18 to 20 from obtaining concealed carry permits, is facially unconstitutional. The Attorney General’s Office has indicated that they will not be seeking further review of the case. Because no other appellate court has considered the constitutionality of Section 790.06(2)(b), under NYSRPA v. Bruen, 597 U.S. 1 (2022) and United States v. Rahimi, 602 U.S. 681 (2024), the Fourth District’s decision is effectively the law of the state. As such, the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services will issue concealed weapon licenses to applicants who are 18 years or older and meet all other eligibility requirements.
In-Gauge of Polk County is offering 1/2 pricing for couples registering for any of our basic handgun or concealed carry license qualification classes.
For our class schedule and to register, visit our website CLICK HERE
Uthmeier said his office will work with the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to implement the court’s order.
Unless you are exempt, to qualify for a Florida concealed carry weapons license, you have to take a class. Our 3-hour concealed carry license class will qualify you to apply for a Florida concealed carry weapons license recognized in 38 total states.
A Florida concealed carry license is currently recognized in 38 states. Having a valid Florida concealed carry license is essential when traveling across state lines.
Florida Attorney General Won’t Appeal Court Ruling
1/2 price offer on all basic handgun and concealed carry license qualification classes.
Straight from the Florida Dept. of Agriculture ‘concealed carry license’ website . . .
Important Notice On June 17, 2026, the Fourth District Court of Appeal of Florida ruled in Eubanks v. Florida (4D2025-1698) that Section 790.06(2)(b) of the Florida Statutes, which bars law-abiding adults aged 18 to 20 from obtaining concealed carry permits, is facially unconstitutional. The Attorney General’s Office has indicated that they will not be seeking further review of the case. Because no other appellate court has considered the constitutionality of Section 790.06(2)(b), under NYSRPA v. Bruen, 597 U.S. 1 (2022) and United States v. Rahimi, 602 U.S. 681 (2024), the Fourth District’s decision is effectively the law of the state. As such, the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services will issue concealed weapon licenses to applicants who are 18 years or older and meet all other eligibility requirements.
In-Gauge of Polk County is offering 1/2 pricing for couples registering for any of our basic handgun or concealed carry license qualification classes.
For our class schedule and to register, visit our website CLICK HERE
Uthmeier said his office will work with the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to implement the court’s order.
Unless you are exempt, to qualify for a Florida concealed carry weapons license, you have to take a class. Our 3-hour concealed carry license class will qualify you to apply for a Florida concealed carry weapons license recognized in 38 total states.
A Florida concealed carry license is currently recognized in 38 states. Having a valid Florida concealed carry license is essential when traveling across state lines.
Florida Attorney General Won’t Appeal Court Ruling
1/2 price offer on all basic handgun and concealed carry license qualification classes.
Straight from the Florida Dept. of Agriculture ‘concealed carry license’ website . . .
Important Notice On June 17, 2026, the Fourth District Court of Appeal of Florida ruled in Eubanks v. Florida (4D2025-1698) that Section 790.06(2)(b) of the Florida Statutes, which bars law-abiding adults aged 18 to 20 from obtaining concealed carry permits, is facially unconstitutional. The Attorney General’s Office has indicated that they will not be seeking further review of the case. Because no other appellate court has considered the constitutionality of Section 790.06(2)(b), under NYSRPA v. Bruen, 597 U.S. 1 (2022) and United States v. Rahimi, 602 U.S. 681 (2024), the Fourth District’s decision is effectively the law of the state. As such, the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services will issue concealed weapon licenses to applicants who are 18 years or older and meet all other eligibility requirements.
In-Gauge of Polk County is offering 1/2 pricing for couples registering for any of our basic handgun or concealed carry license qualification classes.
For our class schedule and to register, visit our website CLICK HERE
Uthmeier said his office will work with the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to implement the court’s order.
Unless you are exempt, to qualify for a Florida concealed carry weapons license, you have to take a class. Our 3-hour concealed carry license class will qualify you to apply for a Florida concealed carry weapons license recognized in 38 total states.
A Florida concealed carry license is currently recognized in 38 states. Having a valid Florida concealed carry license is essential when traveling across state lines.
Our next Basic Church Security Team Concealed Carry License Qualification Class will take place Saturday, July 11th. Successful completion of this class will make the participant eligible to comply with the State law that goes into effect on July 1st.
By popular demand, our next Basic Church Security Team Concealed Carry License Qualification Class will take place Saturday, July 11th. Successful completion of this class will make the participant eligible to become compliant with the State law that goes into effect July 1st.
To register for our 3-hour, July 11th class CLICK HERE.
Florida’s new ‘Security in Places of Worship’ law goes into effect July 1st.
In-Gauge is now offering 3 levels of Guardian Training for volunteer security team members:
Non-lethal, situational awareness, conflict de-escalation training, with STOP THE BLEED emergency blood loss control certification training for unarmed safety team members – 10 hours.
Basic Florida concealed carry license qualification training for armed security team members – 3 hours.
Advanced GUARDIAN TRAINING for armed security team members – 15 hours.
For complete information, use the form below to contact us or call: 863-206-1996
In-Gauge of Polk County’s Church Guardian Training program is a 15-hour tactical firearm training program for members of faith based organizations. The Guardian training specifically focuses on situational awareness, plans of action and the use of a firearm in crowded, close-quarter conditions. Our Guardian Training trains the participant how to assess and recognize a potential threat, mitigate a potential threat before it becomes an actual threat and neutralize an actual threat, while minimizing the threat to others.
Our Guardian training is composed of two distinct classes:
Phase One – Basic handgun/concealed carry qualification training (5 hours)
Classroom: 4 hours
Live-fire range training: 1 hour
Phase Two – Advanced concealed carry training (10 hours)
Classroom: 5 hours
Live-fire, tactical range training: 5 hours
During the Phase Two live-fire range session, each participant is expected to fire a minimum of 250 rounds, while performing a series of progressive, live-fire drills, using a defensive caliber handgun. Each participant will learn and demonstrate:
the correct method of drawing from a concealment holster
the use of cover and concealment
the correct and safe method of moving between cover and concealment, while actively engaging and armed assailant
the correct procedure for engaging multiple assailants
the correct procedure for loading, shooting and reloading while engaging an armed assailant or assailants
the correct procedure for clearing firearm malfunctions while engaging an armed assailant
In May of 2019 we added Stop The Bleed – emergency blood loss control and tourniquet training to our Guardian Training Program. This training is now part of our Guardian Training Program and will be provided to all participants.
A nationally recognized, official NRA certificate of training will be issued upon successful completion of the course. Training exceeds requirements for Florida’s concealed carry weapons license application.
In 2020, training will be ongoing throughout the year. Training can be taken as an individual or a group. Convenient lodging is available for out-of-town participants.
Pre-registration is required. Group discounts are available. Call or email for pricing information.
Polk County Sheriff Grady Judd explains the importance of having trained guardians on location when the wolf attacks and before law enforcement arrives . . . .
Something to consider . . .
In-Gauge of Polk County is one of a very few entities that provides official NRA firearms training and the only organization in Central Florida that conducts official NRA, advanced firearms training.
If you or any member of your congregation takes firearms training that does not provide an official NRA certificate of training, displaying the official NRA name and emblem, your training will likely not be recognized outside the state of Florida and not be recognized by liability insurance carriers.
Firearms training classes (concealed carry classes) conducted by retired law enforcement officers or instructors claiming to certified NRA instructors that do not issue official NRA certificates of training, are NOT official NRA firearms training classes.
Before enrolling in any concealed carry class or advanced firearms tactical training course, ask if you be receiving an official NRA certificate of training upon completion. Not merely receiving a training certificate designed by the instructor or a letter stating you completed a class.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
guardian training, polk county, church safety, church security, concealed carry class, gun safety, concealed carry permit, CCW, shooting classes, A.L.I.C.E., active shooter, gun permit, ALICE